Words I Hate: Jubilee

ˈjo͞obəˌlē

(n.) a special anniversary of an event, esp. one celebrating twenty-five or fifty years of a reign or activity

Since my 7-month-old is my only witness, you’ll just have to trust me when I say that I raise my right hand, place it over my heart, and solemnly swear to never use the word “jubilee” in any of my writing. Unless, of course, I’m drafting an essay about words I hate; this, however, is the only exception.

I’m not sure why it gets on my nerves so badly, but I cannot stand this word or people who use it.

Leave a Reply

