My Love/Hate Relationship With Change

I have a strong abhorrence for inconsistentcy. I’m not sure why, but I can’t stand things like a sudden change in plans or an unexpected pit stop. I’m the kind of guy who finds comfort in a daily routine and hates having to break it. I wake up at the same time every day, I clean various rooms of the house on the same days every week, and I go to bed at the same time every night. Unless circumstances prevent me from doing so. And then I get angry.

But as I said earlier this week in my post about weather, I love the changing of the seasons. At first, it seems a little contradictory to my hatred of inconsistency, but when you think about it, the seasons are predictable. I know they’re coming, and so I guess there’s consistency in that.

Yesterday and today, for our family at least, were the first days of spring. We went hiking at DuPont both days, once with the kids and once with my wife’s sister, and we had a blast. I love the warm weather—at least for the moment since I’m sick of winter and all things cold. I know the day will come soon enough, though, when I’m tired of these warmer temperatures and will be longing for some hot chocolate and Christmas decorations. But for now, life is pretty awesome.

4 thoughts on “My Love/Hate Relationship With Change

Leave a Reply

