Words I Love: Petrichor

ˈpeˌtrīkôr

(n.) a pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather

I love words that are specific, that can have only one meaning, one context. And I love words that pack a punch. I guess it’s my desire for efficiency in my writing. Why describe something with ten words when you can do so in one without sacrificing meaning? It’s a no-brainer. Petrichor. What a cool word.

 

Photo courtesy of Thomas ♫.

One thought on “Words I Love: Petrichor

Leave a Reply

